Which fuel grades are defined as per the latest relevant ISO standard?

23 Aug '19, 09:59

Aug. 23, 2019, 9:59 a.m.
KnowledgeBase's gravatar image


As per the ISO 8217:2017, the present (as for Aug 2019) classification is as follows:

DM - Distillate Marine Fuels - applied to fuels: DMX, DMA, DFA, DMZ, DFZ, DMB, DFB. Grades differ mostly by the maximum permitted Kinematic viscosity and Cetane index. Grades DMB and DFB have slightly higher permitted Density and Sulfur content.

RM - Residual Marine Fuels - applied to fuels: RMA10, RMB30, RMD80, RME180, RMG180, RMG380, RMG500, RMG700, RMK380, RMK500, RMK700. Grades differ by the maximum: Kinematic viscosity, Density, CCAI, Carbon residue, Ash, Vanadium, Sodium, Aluminium plus silicon

Please note, that starting the year 2020, marine fuels with Sulfur content of more than 0.50% will be banned. Above classification does not reflect the Sulfur content.

permanent link

23 Aug '19, 10:04

Aug. 23, 2019, 10:04 a.m.
marinexpert's gravatar image

add your answer

Related questions

MarineProHelp 2018 - 2022