Get help from Pros. Remove ads. Promote your CV or LinkedIn profile.

International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, 1973 as modified by the Protocol of 1978.

Contains the following Anexes:

Annex I Regulations for the Prevention of Pollution by Oil (entered into force 2 October 1983)

Regulates prevention of pollution by oil from operational measures as well as from accidental discharge.

Annex II Regulations for the Control of Pollution by Noxious Liquid Substances in Bulk (entered into force 2 October 1983)

States discharge criteria and measures for the control of pollution by noxious liquid substances carried in bulk.

Annex III Prevention of Pollution by Harmful Substances Carried by Sea in Packaged Form (entered into force 1 July 1992)

General requirements for the issuing of detailed standards on packing, marking, labelling, documentation, stowage, quantity limitations, exceptions and notifications.

Annex IV Prevention of Pollution by Sewage from Ships (entered into force 27 September 2003)

Requirements to control pollution of the sea by sewage.

Annex V Prevention of Pollution by Garbage from Ships (entered into force 31 December 1988)

Covers different types of garbage and specifies the distances from land and the manner of disposal.

Annex VI Prevention of Air Pollution from Ships (entered into force 19 May 2005)

Sets limits on SOx and NOx emissions from ship exhausts and prohibits deliberate emissions of ozone-depleting substances; requires technical and operational energy efficiency measures aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions from ships.

Related Terms


Power ratios used to define the angular width of a radar beam. One convention defines beam width as the angular width between points at which the field strength is 71 percent of its maximum value. Expressed in terms of power ratio, this convention defines beam width as the angular width between half-power points. A second convention defines beam width as the angular width between points at which the field strength is 50 percent of its maximum value. Expressed in terms of power ratio, the latter convention defines beam width as the angular width between quarter- power points.


International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974, as amended


A certificate issued to a shipowner by a government department in the case of a ship whose gross and net tonnages have been determined in accordance with the International Convention of Tonnage Measurement of Ships. The certificate states the gross and net tonnages together with details of the spaces attributed to each.


1. A scheme of distinguishing and grouping clouds according to their appearance and, where possible, to their process of formation. The one in general use, based on a classification system introduced by Luke Howard in 1803, is that adopted by the World Meteorological Organization and published in the International Cloud Atlas (1956). This classification is based on the determination of (a) genera, the main characteristic forms of clouds; (b) species, the peculiarities in shape and differences in internal structure of clouds; (c) varieties, special characteristics of arrangement and transparency of clouds; (d) supplementary features and accessory clouds, appended and associated minor clouds forms; and (e) mother-clouds, the origin of clouds if formed from other clouds. The ten cloud genera are cirrus, cirrocumulus, cirrostratus, altocumulus, altostratus, nimbostratus, stratocumulus, stratus, cumulus, and cumulonimbus. The fourteen cloud species are fibratus, uncinus, spissatus, castellanus, floccus, stratiformis, nebulous, lenticularis, fractus, humilis, mediocris, congestus, calvus, and capillatus. The nine cloud varieties are intortus, vertebratus, undulatus, radiatus, lacunosis, duplicatus, translucidus, perlucidus, and opacus. The nine supplementary features and accessory clouds are inclus, mamma, virga, praecipitatio, arcus, tuba, pileus, velum, and pannus. Note that although these are Latin words, it is proper convention to use only the singular endings, e.g., more than one cirrus cloud are, collectively, cirrus, not cirri. 2. A scheme of classifying clouds according to their usual altitudes. Three classes are distinguished: high, middle, and low. High clouds include cirrus, cirrocumulus, cirrostratus, occasionally altostratus and the tops of cumulonimbus. The middle clouds are altocumulus, altostratus, nimbostratus, and portions of cumulus and cumulonimbus. The low clouds are stratocumulus, stratus, most cumulus and cumulonimbus bases, and sometimes nimbostratus. 3. A scheme of classifying clouds according to their particulate composition; namely water clouds, ice-crystal clouds, and mixed clouds. The first are compose


Convention on the International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea


International Convention on Load Lines, 1966, as amended


International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers, 1978, as amended


Search and Rescue/International Convention on Maritime Search and Rescue, 1979


Seafarers' Training, Certification and Watchkeeping Code, appended to the STCW Convention


The convention that current flows from an area of positive charge to one of negative charge. In reality the electrons, and hence the current, travel from an area of negative charge to one of positive charge.
Get help from Pros. Remove ads. Promote your CV or LinkedIn profile.

Related questions

MarineProHelp 2018 - 2022